Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > Studio equipment

Studio equipment An area for general discussion about studio equipment, excluding Access products which have a dedicated area.

Old 14.06.2006, 02:08 AM
This forum member lives here

Default What's a good monitor these days?

I've been using a pair of Mackie HR824s for a few years now and really need to trade them in - they're just too powerful (and insanely loud) for my new apartment (already had the neighbors banging on my floor). So I am looking for something in the same price rang (say between $1,000 and $1,500) that is smaller than the 824s, but that is known for very good translation and ultimately sound really well. Any suggestions?
Old 14.06.2006, 03:29 AM

what about the 624's by mackie? I am using the Event ASP6's and love them.
I think I read ADAM is going to start making an entry level monitor. Might be something to look into.
Old 14.06.2006, 06:42 AM
New here
New here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlot
I think I read ADAM is going to start making an entry level monitor. Might be something to look into.
They are the ADAM A7's. I was thinking of getting them for a friend of mine. They run 50W to the woofer and 50W to the ribbon tweeter. Plus they have a cool looking carbon fiber driver!

Check them out at http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/A7/
Old 14.06.2006, 07:23 AM

Send a message via ICQ to Tomer=Trance Send a message via MSN to Tomer=Trance

i would second the Adam A7s or try the Adam Anf10 passive monitors+150w (or 300w) poweramp like the alesis ra150 or maybe (on the higher end) a Rolls or Hafler amp.
check out the Dynaudio Bm5a aswell for a simmiler price range.
Old 14.06.2006, 01:08 PM

yeah, a couple of my friends here also recommended the Adam series of monitors - I'm definitely going to check them out. What are your guys thoughts on these JBLs?