Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 21.11.2009, 12:09 AM
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie

Default How to sidechain without sound.

Can anyone here direct me on how to get the side-chain effect without having the kick drum audible? I know how to do regular side-chaining.
Old 21.11.2009, 03:12 AM
Complete Newbie

I'm going to guess that you mean in Cubase. That's easy. Send the kick drum output to "no bus", and SEND it to the sidechain compressor on the channel of whatever you want to duck. Just guessing that's what you mean
Old 21.11.2009, 04:20 PM
Complete Newbie

whoops. I meant to specify in Logic Studio 8.
Old 21.11.2009, 11:05 PM
Am starting to like this forum

Just create a kickdrum track to use as a sidechain track and mute the track in the sequencer rather than in the mixer.
Old 22.11.2009, 04:35 AM
Complete Newbie

I tried that and it still doesn't work. You think you can be more specific?
Old 22.11.2009, 09:12 AM

Hello,
I don't use Logic but in Cubase I would SEND the signal to the effect with the sidechain input. I would change the SEND to Pre-Fader then turn the fader down.
I would think it was something similar in Logic.

Cheers,

Dave.
Old 03.12.2009, 09:33 AM
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie

Send a message via MSN to Abnorm

I`m experiencing the same problem as Arty here, but I will test this when i get home. I used the sidechaincompressor plugin, which has it`s own bus-es and stuff. but it wasnt working very good.