Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > Studio equipment

Studio equipment An area for general discussion about studio equipment, excluding Access products which have a dedicated area.

Old 01.11.2007, 09:10 AM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Send a message via MSN to Gary_Munday
Default Are you a hoarder? [Extensive gear chat]

No pun intended.......

I'm interested in hearing your views and opinion based on the topic. Are you a gear hoarder? That is to say (do you collect just for the sake of owning, do you go for expense, do you believe that you can make use of minimal setups, or quite simply-you own just because you honestly believe it gives you more sound power?) People adapt different views & opinon.

Thinking of my own setup, my opinion is this. I believe that owning a decent foundation of gear is good for helping to convert your ideas. But going overboard with cash is (a lot of the time) totally unnecessary. So minimal can be enough. The kind of attitude I adapt is that 'I wouldn't buy the next new synth just because it's new'. I wouldn't buy a synth, just because it has newer features. Even analog synths, I wouldn't buy them extensively just because they were used in the 80's.

Perhaps at some point I would of thought that, but certainly not anymore. Equipment are just tools -- and yes, it's not what you have but how you use it. I was saving up for my next two synths, but do I really need them? Of course not..... If you put money over mind, then things can get 'OTT' as you just keep spending. But if you get to know your gear and how to use it effectively, problem solved. That's what I think anyhow.

As for synths, I currently own 3VA's and 1 analog monophonic. Out of that, I mostly always just use two. The virus,and the MS. And you know what, that's enough for me. And as for the value of creativity and idea, priceless.