Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 09.04.2007, 08:24 PM
New here
New here

Default Drum kits, need advice, pls help

Hello

I'm a newbie here, i currently use a Roland Fantom X6 synth, but i went to a local music instruments dealer and for a couple of hours i played the Virus TI kbd and was completely amazed by its synth sounds; consequently, as i also want to have an analog synth apart from my sample-based Fantom X, i have the following questions (or concerns, to be more realistic):

1) Is it hard to program a drum kit ? How do i have to do it ? I've seen there are no drum kits as patches in it. How can it be done ?

2) Do i (is it possible) to buy drum kits online and load them into Virus' memory by means of USB ? (i am not so good in using MIDI)

3) Do I have to buy an external drum machine ? (like Alesis SR-16 or Boss DR 670)

4) As far as accoustic sounds (e.g. piano), what about them ? Do they also need to be programmed ?

Thanx 4 your help

P.S My gear : Fantom X6 / Intel-based iMac / M-Audio FireWire Audiophile soundcard
Old 10.04.2007, 09:30 AM
Aged Veteran
Aged Veteran

1) There´s no drum kits on it since you can only program one sound (or drum) per part. You could of course make a multi and select drum sounds for all 16 part. This way you can have a drumkit of 16 drum sounds.

2) Maybe, maybe not but it should be possible to buy soundbanks with good drum sounds or you can download free soundbanks from Access´s website...