Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > Studio equipment

Studio equipment An area for general discussion about studio equipment, excluding Access products which have a dedicated area.

Old 25.08.2006, 10:22 AM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default question about mixers,please help!

Greets,
early next week I need to buy a mixer and since this is my first one I need your opinions. I`m considering buying Mackie 1202 Vlz Pro with 4 stereo and 4 mono channels [1402 Vlz Pro with 4 stereo and 6 mono is a lttle bit to expensive at the moment for me and beside the number of channels and that it has volume sliders instead of knobs like 1202 there`s not much difference].
Since I saw that all the huge expensive mixers have only mono channels and that in the professional studios each synth is connected in 2 mono I was wondering will it make much of a difference if I have some of my or all of my synths connected in stereo channels while mixing? I have at the moment 3 hardware synths and a PC with 2in/2out soundcard and I`m not planning to have more that 4-5 hardware synths at most[!] in the future ..

I really need your help about this as this should be a one time purchase! So is 1402 with 2 more mono channels and volume sliders worth the extra money?
Old 25.08.2006, 12:48 PM
Administrator
This forum member lives here

>>will it make much of a difference if I have some of my or all of my synths connected in stereo channels while mixing?

Possibly not. It depends on how many stereo sources you want to record. On the other hand I guess there's no reason why you couldn't use a stereo channel by putting one mono audio source into the L and another different audio source into the R, to make the stereo channels act as hard-panned mono channels, and using the 'balance' knob as a crossfader between the two if needs be.