Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > General discussion about music production

General discussion about music production Discussion concerning music production, composing, studio work, sequencing, software, etc.

Old 23.06.2016, 06:34 PM
Coming down with a bug...
Complete Newbie

Default A set of softsynths to replace Virus Ti

Imagine a hypothetical scenario, where you would have to replace your TI with a softsynth or a bunch of them for whatever reason. Which would be your choices and why?

Speaking for myself, I hope this will never happen to me, but if my Virus gets broken I think it would be a combo of Spire, Dune2 and Massive and also Fabfilter Saturn as a saturation/distortion unit. It wouldn't sound the same but could possibly work. Aslo new synth Icarus by Tone2 looks interesting.
Old 24.06.2016, 12:34 PM
Am starting to like this forum

I'd include the Arturia V Collection and OPX Pro 2, if you like a great selection of vintage synth sounds.

EG
Old 25.06.2016, 01:54 PM
This forum member lives here

Dune 2 remains my overall pick for "what if I were on a deserted island scenario" synth plug-in. On my monitors and ears it competes with and can at sometimes sound better than the Virus (depends on the context). But there are a number of other plug-ins that I recommend as "must haves". By that I mean I wouldn't want to give them up, to call them must haves for any sound-designer or musician seems hyperbolic because of different strokes, etc.

But here's the critical short list, in no particular order :

Dune 2
Zebra 2 *
Synthmaster *
Massive
Sylenth
OP-X PRO II