Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 20.11.2005, 02:09 PM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default TI vs JP8K: Hypersaw as bright as Supersaw (audio inside)?..

Hi,

I was wondering how well the TI with its new Hypersaw can emulate JP8000/8080 type sounds, like those pads that sound warm but also are very present in the high frequencies (without sounding too harsh).

Here's a sweeping JP8000 pad example to show what I mean: http://users.skynet.be/soundfiles/motorcycle.mp3 (it's the pad melody from "As the rush comes" by Motorcyle). It sounds very warm, but also when the filter goes full open it has very rich, smooth high frequencies which sound very pleasing.

When trying this with a Virus C the result was always much more colder and when the filter goes fully open it doesn't have those rich high frequencies and instead sound rather harsh.

So how is that now with the TI and its hypersaw.

As a comparison test, could anybody who has a TI please try to recreate the above sound with the above melody so I can hear how well it can make those JP8000 pads and post the audio results here (wav, mp3). I would really appreciate that alot!!

Note: my local music store doesn't have a demo TI in store at this moment, so I can't demo it. That's why I am asking for good audio demos from you guys.

Thanks alot!

Note: I have updated this message. Hopefully my question is more clear now and will I get better replies now! Thanks!
Old 20.11.2005, 10:02 PM
Veteran
Veteran

I'd say play a TI and use patch ROM-M 63 Ld StrngzMS.

Adjust the delay feedback and send to suit and its 98% the same sound.
Maybe untune the detune a bit. MS always likes the DETUNE the german way.
Old 21.11.2005, 10:36 PM