Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 09.10.2007, 03:07 PM
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie

Default creating dark atmosphears

I had a go at making a few pads on the virus TI and OMG i didnt realise how crap i am at making them on it. On softsynths that i got im good but on the TI for some reason im crap. how would you go about getting a nice cold dark scary atmosphear going?
Old 11.10.2007, 03:01 PM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Send a message via MSN to Gary_Munday

It's not a case of being crap at all. In fact, quite the opposite. It's just a case of learning how to use the virus and how it differs to other synths you have used.
With that said, you need to look for the characteristics of what dark atmospheres are all about. Typically, this is down to personal taste and opinion--so it's quite an open ended subject.

The virus is not a great hardware synth to start on due to the large number of hidden features which can appear to confuse you. You will learn it in no time, though. That said, what you need to do is look for the basic properties of the sound first.

With dark atmospheres, you obviously want to portray something very deep and thick sounding. The way that dark sounds are played equally contributes to how the sound is portrayed. Some pads are far too glittery and weak in this department(perfect for other apps but not dark). A basic example - use a couple of saws mixed with a thick sounding waveform or something to thicken it up etc. Introduce a sub oscillator to around the 1-3 mark. Detune the balance (but not excessively) of both oscillators.