Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Trouble with your Access Virus?

Trouble with your Access Virus? Here you can get help when you have trouble or just don't know what to do.

Old 08.10.2007, 01:49 PM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default wobbly master pot - oh no

hey everyone! this is my first post.

i just picked up a virus c from ebay. the master volume pot on it is wobbly and feels like its about to break off!

the seller forgot to mention this to me. either that or he packed it unsuitably.

there is a sticker on the back preventing me from opening it up to check what kind of physical damage there is. i know that this thing wont have any kind of warranty on it anyway, so is there any other reason i shouldn't take the sticker off and open it up?
im hoing i can fasten the pot down more securely and prevent it from getting worse.

cheers for any help!
Old 08.10.2007, 03:15 PM
Administrator
This forum member lives here

Hiya Queg, I had the [same scenario], bought a Virus Indigo second hand and found two of the knobs were wobbly when I received it.

I took a few photos. Here's a close-up of one of the Virus pots:-

[Pot]

The part that is actually wobbly isn't the spindle itself, but the metal part surrounding the spindle that fixes the spindle to the base of the pot. I've highlighted it with a dotted line:-

[Loose bit]

The only way to fix it is to physically replace the pots.

You can get the pots here (from Access-Music's hardware depot):

http://www.synthesizerservice.de/index.php?lang=en