Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 16.11.2006, 06:46 PM

Send a message via AIM to ///AznTi
Default LFO... HELP!

Ok ok everyone knows I'm a complete newbie here. But thats why I have all you experts to help me...HeHe

I know LFO means low frequency oscillator which moves the oscillator in a certain way by clock or by freely moving. I have noticed I have been using more clock with envelope this way every time a note is struck the note starts with that LFO movement. Does that make sense?

Well if it does...I want to know what the hell that 3rd LFO is. or how to control the freaking thing.

I have designed my patches but sometimes I notice the patch changes and it sounds like a LFO is moving slowly and not in time to what I want.

If it is the 3rd LFO, how do you clock that to a key note or shut it off completely. I will be happy with just 2 LFOs but this 3rd one is throwing me off.

Can someone explain?

thanks
Old 16.11.2006, 09:51 PM
Administrator
This forum member lives here

Default Re: LFO... HELP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///AznTi
I have designed my patches but sometimes I notice the patch changes and it sounds like a LFO is moving slowly and not in time to what I want.

If it is the 3rd LFO, how do you clock that to a key note or shut it off completely. I will be happy with just 2 LFOs but this 3rd one is throwing me off.
Hi AznTi, sounds like it may not be the LFO but simple subtle detuning that causes the oscillators to slowly move in and out of phase with each other.
Or it could be PWM (Pulse-Width Modulation) if you're using a portion of the square wave as the main oscillators.