Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > General discussion about Access Virus

General discussion about Access Virus Discussion about Virus A, B, C and TI.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30.03.2010, 05:58 AM
PaPi's Avatar
PaPi PaPi is offline
Infekted!
Almost Amateur
 
Join Date: 27.01.2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 124
Default Virus TI editor standalone (how to create one)

When I create/edit Virus TI patches I'm usually not using my DAW. I've never understood why Acess doesn't provide a standalone editor, but now I've found an elegant solution: savihost is a small application that can turn any plugin into an executable. No need to install it: all you have to do is copy the application (savihost.exe) in the same folder as the vst and rename it with the same exact name as the vst. Then you can create a shortcut and launch it from the desktop or from anywhere else you wish. Savihost is free but you can paypal a few bucks to its creator if you find it useful.

http://www.hermannseib.com/english/savihost.htm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06.04.2010, 09:59 AM
PaPi's Avatar
PaPi PaPi is offline
Infekted!
Almost Amateur
 
Join Date: 27.01.2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 124
Default

I forgot to mention that this only works with the 32-bit VST. If you have the 64-bit version of the Virus Control installed on your machine, you'll have to install the 32-bit as well and then make the application from that. Works fine with a 64-bit OS (I have Win7 x64.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06.04.2010, 06:11 PM
TheHobbit's Avatar
TheHobbit TheHobbit is offline
Pro
Pro
 
Join Date: 19.01.2009
Location: U.K
Posts: 312
Default

Second savi host is a great program and can be used with most if not all plugins (32bit).

However regarding 64bit plugins I do wonder as not tried myself, if you could use jBridge to wrap a 64 bit plugin to 32bit and then use savihost on the wrapped 32bit version.

Great work around.
__________________
"Music is the language of the spirit. It opens the secret of life bringing peace, abolishing strife. "

My noodles, nothing spicy...
https://soundcloud.com/mystafx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06.04.2010, 07:53 PM
PaPi's Avatar
PaPi PaPi is offline
Infekted!
Almost Amateur
 
Join Date: 27.01.2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHobbit View Post
Second savi host is a great program and can be used with most if not all plugins (32bit).

However regarding 64bit plugins I do wonder as not tried myself, if you could use jBridge to wrap a 64 bit plugin to 32bit and then use savihost on the wrapped 32bit version.

Great work around.
Interesting idea. I checked with the jbridge documentation, and savihost is not on the list of supported hosts. This doesn't necessarily mean it's not compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31.05.2010, 01:04 AM
athena athena is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 26.05.2010
Posts: 3
Default

No good to us Mac users then?

Yes I agree a standalone version of Virus control would be really useful.

I have an old beta version of Emagic's Sound diver but i've never tried using it with the Virus TI as I'm guessing it would not be a listed supported synth
like The Virus B and C etc within Sound diver.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31.05.2010, 02:08 AM
PaPi's Avatar
PaPi PaPi is offline
Infekted!
Almost Amateur
 
Join Date: 27.01.2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 124
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by athena View Post
No good to us Mac users then?

Yes I agree a standalone version of Virus control would be really useful.

I have an old beta version of Emagic's Sound diver but i've never tried using it with the Virus TI as I'm guessing it would not be a listed supported synth
like The Virus B and C etc within Sound diver.
I suppose you could buy a cheap used netbook ($200 or less) and use it just for that... Virus Controls is really easy on the host because the hardware does all the heavy lifting...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12.10.2010, 07:29 PM
fijaicairo fijaicairo is offline
New here
New here
 
Join Date: 17.09.2008
Posts: 7
Default Use AU Lab on OSX to host Virus Control

Quote:
Originally Posted by athena View Post
No good to us Mac users then?

Yes I agree a standalone version of Virus control would be really useful.

I have an old beta version of Emagic's Sound diver but i've never tried using it with the Virus TI as I'm guessing it would not be a listed supported synth
like The Virus B and C etc within Sound diver.
AU Lab is a free app that comes with Xcode for testing audio units. You could create a document that has an instance of Virus Control in there and save it.
Loading virus control would then be a simple matter of loading this document.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Skin Designed by: Talk vBulletin
Copyright �2002-2015, Infekted.org