Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > Studio equipment

Studio equipment An area for general discussion about studio equipment, excluding Access products which have a dedicated area.

Old 07.01.2009, 06:50 AM
Definately caught something...
Complete Newbie

Default Moog Little Phatty, who needs a girlfriend?

I bought my Little Phatty Stage edition II two days ago (as a reward for giving up cigarettes for the new year, that should be another topic.....). What can i say? Anyone who truly loves synths will love this thing, it's a champion.

It's amazing how good it sounds in a mix too. This aspect of an instruments sound is often overlooked I reckon, but it is absolutely crucial. I don't like to criticise or be negative, but I'll use the XPAND! softsynth that comes with ProTools as an example. It sounds quite nice by itself, but in a mix it dissolves away into nothingness. I made a simple sound with the LP and not only did it cut through the mix, it also ENHANCED the other sounds in the mix (including the Virus)....

The ability to cut through a mix has something to do with harmonics as far as i can figure and hear, and this is where analog really shows its true colours. Maybe I'm stating the obvious, but It's always nice to figure things out for yerself!

Mac Pro, Pro Tools, Virus TI, Little Phatty,: Best setup I've ever had by a long shot.......
Old 07.01.2009, 08:48 PM
Semi Pro
Semi-Pro

If in fact the concept of Time turns out to be a series of discreet moments of existence which we mistake for a continuous flow, then the analog vs. VA argument goes out the window. But until then, real analog oscillators sound like a lot of fun. Congratulations!
Old 08.01.2009, 06:48 AM
Knob Junkie
Amateur

Ah, but there are still a few things that girlfriends can do that even a Moog can't