Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Trouble with your Access Virus?

Trouble with your Access Virus? Here you can get help when you have trouble or just don't know what to do.

Old 06.11.2003, 05:40 AM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default Virus b: Multi MIDI channel problem...help!

Hey!

I just *lerve* my new Virus. I have really been getting down into it programming-wise, and it just keeps amazing me how versatile (and cool sounding) it is. I have been working on this very rich, noisy, and squashed pad that is *very* Boards of Canada. I was listening to "Corsair" and I figured it'd be good practice to aim for a sound, while not actually copying it.

Anyhow...For the past week, whenever I want to record it into Cubase SL I have just been recording the MIDI all in on channel 1, setting up an audio channel, then immediately printing the MIDI to audio. If I want a new sound: Lather, rinse, repeat using MIDI channel 1/playing back the previous Virus audio.

I have not been able to figure out how to get the Virus to send a multi out across several MIDI channels so I can leave stuff in MIDI for a while without it triggering earlier recorded MIDI lines for other parts. I should be able to tell the Virus to send 16 different patches to Cubase, even if I can only hear the audio one at a time (I am only routing the Virus audio to the L/R audio outs at the moment), right?

I have RTFM'ed as much as possible. Here's what I've been doing:

I have arrayed the various Cubase MIDI channels to 1, 2, 3, etc., and have set the correlating patches in the Virus Multi edit to those numbers. The problem is that Cubase only wants to play things back that are on MIDI channel 1.

Right after I got the Virus I had some MIDI filtering/thru issues in the Cubase prefs that I at least have working. Whether they're correct is another story.