Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > Discussion concerning Access products > Sound designing

Sound designing Discussion about sound designing with the Virus series synths. Share patches and your knowledge or ask questions.

Old 10.10.2004, 08:37 PM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default matching oscillator tones

Hi, this is a kinda stupid question but its one that has plagued me for years.
I have a couple of synths (1 being the indigo 2) and im able to make some nice sounding patches, but sometimes when i begin a track im unable to completely finish it, as im unable to produce more pads basses etc which match the tone of a patch ive already made..
i havent had any classical musical training and sometimes i think this would help..
but is there a way to gain more understanding of the oscillators within the virus? i mean, if you change the tone of 1 oscillator and detune it, is there a mathematical way to to work out how the other oscillators should be set? and then how these should match other patches that i add?

cheers for any advice on a stupid question..
Old 10.10.2004, 08:40 PM
Administrator
This forum member lives here

I really don't know what you mean. What do you mean by tone? You're tuning your patches?

If you keep the oscillators at in tune there sohuldn't be any problems with detuning (unless you detune too much).
Old 10.10.2004, 09:20 PM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

sorry, what i mean is the tone of each oscillator...
usually i start off focussing on 1 oscillator, then when i mix in the second oscillator with a totally different waveform i can find it difficult matching the tuning of each oscillator..

the same goes with matching 1 patch to say another on a different synth..
i usually spend hours tweaking the semitone and detuning for ages to try and get the same resultant 'tone' of each patch...
im still not making sense am i?