Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > Studio equipment

Studio equipment An area for general discussion about studio equipment, excluding Access products which have a dedicated area.

Old 09.03.2005, 08:41 AM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Default classic or 2nd hand C?

Thought I'd tap into all the wisdom here. Which is better in your opinions, a classic virus, or 2nd hand C? They are roughly the same price to buy on e-bay. (the C is a little more). Just wondering If I'll regret the classic as it has a few less options.. Plus Virus seem to be changing the product line to phase out the older syths a,b,c etc. Hmmm. Musically I tend to go through waves, glitch hop, dub, deep house, progressive trance. I expect the new machine to be a staple of my home studio...
Old 09.03.2005, 09:18 AM
Aged Veteran
Aged Veteran

It depends on if you wan?t the extra features of the C. Both are great synths and either way you will get the Virus sound. The Classic is actually "just" a B in a new wrapping. Check: http://www.accessmusic.de/comparisonchart.php4 for the differences. Anyway, a second hand C (in good condition) is still better than a Classic due to the extra features and the more polyphony...

http://www.myspace.com/onkeldunkeldk
Old 09.03.2005, 11:45 AM
Complete Newbie
Complete Newbie

Yeah the C has a little more polyphony, which I think I can get around. Its easy enough to layer up sounds from it on a sequencer program for example. Not quite as elegant but it'll work.

Apart from that the only major difference is the number of Mod Matrixes, which to be honest I have no idea about. How important are they anyway? I know more is best but what would the C enable me to do with the extra 3 sources?
Old 09.03.2005, 01:55 PM
Aged Veteran
Aged Veteran

Quote:
Originally Posted by c mode