Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > Studio equipment

Studio equipment An area for general discussion about studio equipment, excluding Access products which have a dedicated area.

View Poll Results: PREFERRED WORKSTATION
Korg Triton Extreme 88 4 44.44%
Yamaha Motif ES8 1 11.11%
Roland Fantom X8 4 44.44%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21.11.2005, 12:37 AM
This forum member lives here

Default Workstations (I need a good one to learn piano on)

Guys, Ive come to realise that the next ?2000 I have lying around wont be going on a synth but needs to go on a workstation and music lessons. Ive been programming synths for 5 years and now I need to address the next hurdle......music theory (does that include composition? I hope so!) and performance. So what I need is a good professional workstation with a great onboard piano sound and realistic hammer action. I was tempted by the Roland Fantom X8 but have since gone off it......too many sucky reviews just dont instill confidence. So, now Im looking at the Motif ES8 and Triton Extreme88. Which of these two contenders would you guys most like to own. I figure since im not a pro pianist either of these boards would be good enough for me in terms of authentic sounds and feel. What do you reckon?

For some reason im drawn towards the Triton Extreme.....I dont know why....perhaps because its more widely used and I do like owning things that can be seen on TV from time to time (im shallow!). Are there any of you here who own a Triton Exteme?

Just as a side note I went to the Yamaha website to take a look at the Motif ES demo video....and I got to say its the MOST INTENSE SALES VIDEO ive ever seen . You guys should definitely check it out.....this man is intense....and heavy on those buttons....

INTENSE MOTIF ES VIDEO