Access Virus & Virus TI community since 2002 Virus TI Infekted

Go Back   The Unofficial Access Virus & Virus TI Forum - since 2002 > General discussion > General discussion about music production

General discussion about music production Discussion concerning music production, composing, studio work, sequencing, software, etc.

Old 02.12.2009, 06:34 PM
Pro
Pro

Default circuit bending anybody ??

hey...i am really intrigued by circuit bending...do any of you use circuit bent sort of sounds or instruments to enhance you music??
i think its cool to have some of those whacky circuit bent toys/synths lying around to add more spice to music...apart from the mothership Virus TI,having a few other smaller craft in the fleet would be so cool...
i am just starting to learn about how to make my own circuit bent instruments/toys...it would be awesome to hear some of your stuff and get some tips on learning about circuit bending...

Old 30.08.2011, 04:39 PM
Definately caught something...
Very mucho Newbie

I've done a lot I ran several workshops and did a couple of live shows with all or mostly circuit bent gear. Ambient music/noise worked best for me, I think the bent gear is a bit too unpredictable and unsyncable for more structured music. You might get places by sampling it and making beats with the sounds, but I thought live improvisation was more interesting for the audience. Its very visual, and they understand immediately what is going on (especially as I did many bends on keyboards with the casing removed, putting wires directly onto the circuit board. Sometimes even licking them

Here's a few studio tunes I put together. Some computer processing too, but quite a lot of raw bent sounds in there. http://www.soundcloud.com/magpieindustries